This year my students and I have been digging deep into the concept of helping others. Between November and May my energetic kindergartners have been learning and writing about that learning. By the end of the school year we hope to accomplish these things:

  • Understand how people, plants, and animals help each other.
  • Understand, create, and put into practice solutions to the problem of pollution.
  • Spread awareness by publishing a digital and print book.

During the process of writing our book I asked the students, “Why is it important for people, plants, and animals to help each other?” One of my cherubs answered, “We’re all connected. We help each other survive.” This may be my new favorite kindergarten quote. Simple. True. Profound.

As I travel to the tundra in June I hope to bring back new knowledge and ideas to share with my students and community about our connections to the larger world.

Update – Here is our finished digital book project. It is our first time doing something like this so it is pretty rough. Lots of volume differences and bumps along the way.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email